November 25, 2022
Joliet, IL
Time: 7:00PM
Venue: The Forge
Address: 22 W Cass Street
State: IL

A hugely influential West Coast heavy metal quartet, Machine Head’s neck-snapping riffs and earth-shaking grooves helped shape the New Wave of American Heavy Metal movement of the early mid-’90s. The band’s aggressive and wide-ranging style, which combines elements of thrash, groove, and nu-metal, has yielded seminal contemporary metal efforts like Burn My Eyes (1994), The Burning Red (1999), Through the Ashes of Empires (2003), and The Blackening (2007). Led by vocalist, guitarist, and sole constant member Robb Flynn, Machine Head released their tenth studio long-player Of Kingdom and Crown in 2022.

Machine Head formed in 1991 around the talents of ex-Vio-Lence guitar player Robert Flynn and bass player Adam Duce. Joined by guitarist Logan Mader and drummer Tony Costanza, their D.I.Y. work ethic, aggressive playing, and relentless self-promotion eventually landed them a deal with Roadrunner Records, a relationship that would extend all the way through 2005. Their blistering debut, 1994’s Burn My Eyes, which saw the departure of Costanza and the arrival of new drummer Chris Kontos, blended the powerful, modern attack of Pantera and Alice in Chains with the volatility of classic thrash bands like Death Angel and Slayer, earning them a huge European following. The record sold over 500,000 copies and spawned a massive international tour that lasted almost two years.

Read Full Biography